PDA

View Full Version : Any Laptop/Notebook Gurus/Geeks on AP ?? I Need some tech help, please .....

Cage
08-03-2016, 5:42pm
I bought a cheap laptop to use to tether my camera for long exposure Astro imaging. I really only want to use it for focusing via Live View.

I got a Toshiba Satellite Notebook that seriously needs a gee-up. OK, it was real low spec, and I knew it wasn't going to be any Usain Bolt, but seriously it's as slow as a wet week. I've removed all the bloatware and unnecessary start-up programs, but it still takes like 90 seconds to boot.

It is this one: PSCRNA-004004 - Toshiba Satellite C40D-C004 Computer

http://www.mytoshiba.com.au/products/computers/satellite/c40/pscrna-004004/specifications

I've been building my own desktops from scratch for 15 years, and info on parts specs is freely available. With Laptops it's all Chinese Whispers.

I would like to upgrade the RAM and also the 5400rpm HD to a small SSD. The Toshiba spec sheet says the RAM is up-gradeable to 16Gb, so I'm guessing that there are two slots available.

I downloaded CPU-Z and it came up with the RAM as Kingston, Part# TSB16D3LFS 1KGB/2G & Serial# AE2EAD99, neither of which come up on Kingston's search tool. I'm not saying that CPU-Z got it right, but that's all I have to go on.

I'm pretty sure that a mob the size of Toshiba would have some flexibility, and inter-changeability, with their platforms, but after two days of 'Googling' I'm just running into brick walls. :hb::hb:

The Mobo seems to be a Toshiba creation, and of course, no specs available.

As the notebook is only three days old I haven't pulled the back off it yet as I'd like to have a clear upgrade path before I void the warranty.

Any suggestions most appreciated.

Cage
08-03-2016, 6:57pm
Forgot to mention that I intend to load W7 on the SSD as the OS.

I'm living with W10 on the desktop, but not loving it. :(

ricktas
08-03-2016, 7:11pm