PDA

View Full Version : The obligatory 'Hi, This is me' thread... Jdude...

JDuding
30-07-2015, 10:55am
Hi.

As I mentioned briefly on my profile details...

...I have been an active amateur photographer for near, ever.
Only recently, I have come across a problem that has led me to seek out new skills and better equipment.

While bushwalking a short time ago, I took one of many pics that I was using to post on web sites to rub in to Americans and other over-there-ians just how beautiful Australia is.
A favourite hobby of mine.

The pics and video I have been taking up till recently have been more than adequate for the intended purpose. There was an adequate river of foreign drool to give me a sense of satisfied contentment. A job well done.

Lately though, I found that using the same pics on a local web site provided a less than satisfying result. Australians have seen Australia and the pics need to be quite outstanding to evoke the slightest indication of having made an impression.

My work was ho hum, so so.

But...
in my attempts to lift my game... I was so impressed with a couple of my pics... I decided to take them to the local printer and have them printed large enough to join the Rainforest and waterfall pics I have hanging on the walls of the house.

Shocker... my pics, at full size... were a severe disappointment... and the only thing that saved them from being burned in a sacrificial fire pit was the resolve to keep them around as a reminder of just how far away I am from being able to produce anything remotely like that produced by my inspiration... Ken Duncan.

So... I now knew that I needed to upgrade my equipment. Spent a month searching the internet and reading almost endless amounts of sales quotes and reviews on all the current and past models of Digital SLR's.

Conclusion...
Medium format = too expensive in every way.
Any cropped sensor is not going to produce gallery sized quality of the subject mater I'm interested in.