PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone!

OZFreelance
04-06-2015, 6:30pm
My name is Denis, I am retired and have rediscovered photography 5 years ago. In the 70s, I was a keen photographer shooting with Nikon "F" and Nikormat. Unfortunately, under great professional pressure I completely forgot my cameras and left them in a cupboard for more than 25 years. I still have got them and they still work!
My renewed interest happened in 2010 when my wife offered me a new Canon 7D for my birthday. But moving from film to digital proved to be a very frustrating process but certainly a very stimulating undertaking. 5 years on, I think I have reached a reasonable level, although it still is an ongoing process and I am discovering new things everyday. I am now shooting with a Canon 5DIII and Canon 7D. My bag becoming too heavy, I have rationalized my lenses and kept only a Canon 24-70 mm f:2.8 and Canon 70-200 mm f:2.8. I try to get by with that and it works quite well, although I might acquire a 2x Canon extender to increase my 70-200 mm range.
I have a very wide photographic interest and shoot landscapes, sports, street photography, architecture, travel and of course family which is a big part of my action! Often, I give myself projects and try to cover them as well as I can. When I was young, I wanted to be a journalist (war correspondent). I finished being a geologist! But I have kept the journalistic instinct in me and tend to shoot like one. I shoot approximately 10,000 pictures/year.
Photography is totally addictive and I think I am now completely hooked on it! my wife often regrets that she bought me the 7D! But I believe that it is better than golf! :lol:

ameerat42
04-06-2015, 6:43pm
Hi Denis. Welcome to AP. The key here is to join in and enjoy. From your experience you'll have a lot to offer.
BTW, how's the cupboard keeping up?:D

To see how to do things on the forum, head over to the Library and check out "How Do I...?"
Am.

ricktas
04-06-2015, 6:52pm