PDA

View Full Version : G'Day

wmvaux
13-11-2013, 6:04pm
Hi, I am fairly new to photography but have managed to pick things up pretty quickly with the help of friends, youtube and facebook.
I sort of fell into photography by accident when my wife wanted a camera for her birthday. I ended up buying a Nikon D3200 with 2 lenses 18-55mm and 55-200mm. I decided that since it was a DSLR I would try and learn how to use one. Previously it was just a click and shoot with a Panasonic Lumix.

We had planned a trip to the States and I wanted to learn as much as I could so I could take some nice shots while over there. Unfortunately my wife dislocated her hip and required surgery and we had to cancel the trip. Since August 2013 when I first started playing with the camera and learning about photography I have bought a number of lenses to help me take the shots I want to take. A friend informed me that quality lenses won't go out of fashion, so I decided to by quality lenses I could afford. Rather than buying Nikon which were too expensive I have bought 2 Tamron lenses 24-70mm 2.8 & 70-200mm 2.8 and 2 Tokina lenses 11-16mm 2.8 and 100mm macro 2.8 which give me a great range to take different shots. I have also bought a tripod (Manfrotto Befree) which was to take on the trip, it's nice and compact and light. I have also invested in various lens filters CPL, ND's...etc I have just recently bought a new camera for myself as I was restricted with the D3200 and couldn't do things I wanted to do. Things like having to manually take bracket shots. I have bought a Nikon D7100 now and I'm still getting used to it as it's a bit different, but also makes it easier for me.

It's been a great few months and the excitement hasn't dropped off. I'm constantly looking for the next opportunity to take photos and looking for places to go.