PDA

View Full Version : A brief hello from a long time ago.

jaziz
29-09-2013, 4:42pm
Hi all.

It's been a long time since I've posted so I thought I'd re-introduce myself.

I live in Newcastle NSW and have had interests in photography for most of my life. I've been an active photographer for about 8 years. I consider myself an amateur photographer with my main interests in Landscape, Architecture, and the occasional Portrait.

I started off with my Canon 500D twin kit, with the 18-55 and 55-250. These were quickly replaced with a 17-85 and the trusty 50 1.8. And with some hard earned disposable income, I invested in my first L, the 17-40. That was about 4 years ago and I haven't turned back from the L series since.

Early this year I was fortunate enough to travel to Alaska during their summer. Before I went I decided to purchase the 24-105 L wanting to just have an all rounder kind of kit together the the 17 and the 50.

Was a beautiful place and the lens took beautiful rich awe inspiring shots.

I've recently bought the 6D after feeling that the 500D couldn't keep up with the images that the L lens were taking. This isn't to bag out the body in any way. The 500D had served me well and I've learnt so much from it. I just needed (wanted lol), to get a better body. The 5D3 was a definite consideration but the extra $1500 didn't sit well with a hobby that isn't paying. And for landscape I felt it would be all that I needed. Which brings me to where I am now.

I've been thinking of perhaps making some coin with the images i've taken over the years. I know that there's a lot I need to take into consideration and that there's plenty of others with the same idea.

I'm so glad that there's a forum like this with endless advice and feedback for which we can all benefit.

I'll be looking forward to learning what I can and maybe even bump into some of you.

Regards

Jason.

ricktas
29-09-2013, 4:45pm