PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Brisbane - Norman Park

Beetle
12-05-2013, 4:10pm
Hello everyone,

My name is Karin (Beetle is my actual nickname). I'm excited to be here on an AUSTRALIAN site. I have already been a member on an American one for the last 10 years ( 8 of those years we actually lived in Seattle), but I'm longing for some more local contacts. I've joined a photography group via Meetup.com and have been on a few outings with them, which is always enjoyable.

I am an amateur photographer who occasionally gets lucky with a really good shot. I worked as a product photographer in the US for a couple of years, and actually quite enjoyed that, too.

However, my biggest passion is teaching beginners the joys of photography and Photoshop. I just adore it every time I see a light bulb go off and see someone getting excited about suddenly taking MUCH better photos.

I have a Canon 5D MkII and an assortment of lenses. I also have recently had my old 20D converted into a full time IR camera - such joy to use!!!!

I've been a good girl and started reading all the stuff on this site - a LOT of rules and restrictions to start with, but it all makes sense and I like how organized it is.

I'm looking forward to participating here. Now I'll go off and look around some more. See ya!

Kym
12-05-2013, 4:41pm
:gday: & Welcome
- lets see some photos in the main CC forums (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?5) maybe try a competition or 2 and have fun!

ricktas
12-05-2013, 4:45pm
Welcome, join in, give some critique, post some photos for critique.

Mary Anne
12-05-2013, 5:51pm
Hello Karin :action66: and Welcome to AP.. Seems we have the same tastes in cameras, I am trying to get my 20D off one of my Granddaughters so I can do the IR conversion also, one day it will happen. Sounds like you are a busy lady with teaching PS as well.

Will look forward to seeing what you post on the Forums :2smile:

Wayne63
12-05-2013, 8:03pm