PDA

View Full Version : Toe in the water

FelixIII
03-02-2013, 11:58am
My name is Felix (well, it's not really, but it's the name I want to use) and this is my first post.

I have no experience with photography beyond the most basic amateur snaps. At one stage several aeons ago I owned a Minolta SRT-101 SLR camera with one standard lens, which I used to take photographs on a trip around south-east Asia, but then sold when I got back here because I needed the money. Right now I only own a basic Canon pocket digital camera.

Despite that unimpressive history, I've always thought I'd like to get into photography in a more serious way. I googled photography discussion forums australia and this one came up, so I've joined.

The first thing I want to do is buy a camera, and the second is to take a basic photography course. One of the things I'll be looking for is advice about a good starter camera. As for courses, the Melbourne Camera Club looks good, but unfortunately they don't have a course available until August, so I may look for another one earlier.

My interests are detail and colour and composition. I'm not terribly interested in image modification techniques, although I realise that they are part of life now. I'm actually still rather attracted to photographing with film rather than digitally, but I rather suspect that there might be many practical difficulties.

Anyway, hello to everyone, and I'm looking forward to finding out who's who on the site.

Felix

ricktas
03-02-2013, 12:05pm
Welcome to AP. Pull up a chair, post some photos, learn and have fun doing it.

FelixIII
03-02-2013, 12:22pm
Thanks for the welcome, Rick.

Your signature has links to what I presume are some of your photographs, but when I click on them I get taken to a sort of general information page rather than a photograph.

Felix

ricktas
03-02-2013, 12:33pm