PDA

View Full Version : An Old Pro

OzStrat
22-01-2013, 5:21pm
Hi All,

I stumbled across this site and thought I would have a squiz.

Some info on me: I have been a pro advertising/commercial photographer in Brisbane for the past 30+ years. My how time flies when you are having fun!
I've shot everything from cars for Mercedes, girls for Penthouse and beer for XXXX, and everything in between. I run one of Brisbane's biggest studios with up to 6 photographers working from my place.

I have allot of experience under my belt and had a stint as secretary of the ACMP in its early days when we advertising photographers were fighting for copyright. Some trivia; Oz photographers lost copyright in the late 60's. New copyright legislation was going through parliament at the time and the AIPP nominated 2 members to lobby our position. The 2 members, remarkably, were based in Broome, WA, and decided Canberra was too far away. No photographer representation was present so the government concluded we didn't want copyright, and didn't get it. As a result, for a good part of my career, a client owned my photo's the moment I accepted his commission, to do with as he/she pleased. I had to seek permission to display my own shots!
The AIPP's focus was on wedding/portrait photographers where copyright was of little concern. When the legislation came before parliament again in the early 90's, the AIPP continued to sit on their hands. This caused the birth of the ACMP, and a successful copyright campaign followed.

Cheers.

Mary Anne
22-01-2013, 5:36pm
Welcome to AP..WOW !!! Thats very interesting only one question what gear do you use.. :D

ricktas
22-01-2013, 6:36pm
Welcome. Looking forward to seeing some of your work and your learned comments on the forums soon

Kym
22-01-2013, 6:53pm
:gday: & Welcome
- lets see some photos in the main CC forums (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?5) maybe try a competition or 2 and have fun!

Wayne63
23-01-2013, 7:25am