PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Rosebank NSW

sandraheuston
07-11-2012, 2:20pm
Hi my name is Sandra and I live in the beautiful northern rivers region of NSW.
I have been dabbling in photography for the past 5 years or so. I particularly enjoy macro photography as it gives us a glimpse into all things beautiful not normally seen by the naked eye. I have a limited capacity for shooting with a camera due to my physical disability but enjoy the many challenges. I am attaching a personal statemenbt that pretty much sums up my view on why I like to take photos.

Photography, for me is about keeping it simple and as organic as possible.

My primary interest is in working with the shapes, forms and textures that are an inherent part of the natural world. My aim is to distil things to their simplest denominator, their essence. I enjoy the challenge of taking organic, and sometimes inorganic objects, and showing them in different contexts.

Through my photography I want to communicate a sense of the processes at play in our environment.

I believe this is not only important in eliciting an aesthetic appreciation of nature, but in sounding an ecological warning of the demise of the world’s rainforests, a vital part of the health of our planetary ecosystems and all living creatures.

Some of my achievements in the past 4 years include:

Awards (photography)
Two images ‘Highly Commended’ in the Interpretative section of the ANZANG (Australia, N.Z. Antarctica, New Guinea) Australasian Nature Photography awards in 2008 and 2010.
1st prize Coraki Art Prize (Photography) 2010
Publication (photography)
The two award winning images, were published in the ANZANG book Australasian Nature Photography (fifth edition) 2008 and (seventh edition)2010.
Selective Exhibitions:
ANZANG exhibition, Western Australia Museum, Albany
Buttery Art Exhibition, Bangalow, NSW
Border Art Prize, Tweed River Regional Gallery, Murwillumbah, NSW
Small Works 09, Brunswick Street Gallery, ,Fitzroy. Vic.